Member Login

Aegon Championships 2017

Monday 19th - Sunday 25th June


Rafael Nadal will join Andy Murray in the Aegon Championships at The Queen’s Club, 19th-25th June.

Nadal, winner of two Wimbledon crowns, 14 Grand Slam singles titles overall, Olympic gold in Beijing, and runner-up in the Australian Open just over a week ago, can’t wait to return to the prestigious grass court tournament that he won in 2008.

'I am very happy to be coming back to Queen's in June,” said Nadal, who went on to win The Championships, Wimbledon for the first time nine years ago, just three weeks after his triumph at The Queen’s Club. “Winning the title in 2008 is a great memory for me, the people that organise the event at Queen’s and the British crowds are fantastic, and it is the best way for me to be ready for Wimbledon.'

Nadal’s two Wimbledon titles (’08, ’10) both followed good runs at the Aegon Championships. He reached the Wimbledon final five times between 2006 and 2011, making the quarterfinals or better at The Queen’s Club prior to each one.

Stephen Farrow, Aegon Championships Tournament Director, was delighted to confirm Nadal. “Rafa is one of the greatest tennis players of all-time and one of the most popular ever to play at The Queen’s Club. To be able to add his name to that of the World No.1 Andy Murray in the Aegon Championships line-up in a year when we are expanding our Centre Court capacity by 30%, and just a week after reaching the final in Australia, is wonderful news for the tournament, our spectators and our sponsors.”

Tara McGregor-Woodhams, Head of Brand & Sponsorship, Aegon UK said: “We are thrilled that Rafael Nadal has committed to playing the Aegon championships this summer. Everyone loves watching him play, and we look forward to seeing him in June.”


Murray won a record fifth title in 2016 and then The Championships, Wimbledon for a second time three weeks later, before finishing the year as World No.1. He was voted BBC Sports Personality Of The Year for a third time in December, and received a knighthood in the New Year Honours list.

“I’ve always loved playing the event and I’m really happy to know that I will play at Queen’s for the rest of my career ” said Murray. “My first ATP World Tour match-win came at Queen’s in 2005, so for it to become by far the most successful tournament of my career is a great feeling. Looking at the names that have won the tournament four times - some of the best players ever - winning it five times means a lot to me.”

The BBC began broadcasting the tournament in 1979. Last year, 3.7 million people tuned in to BBC television to watch Murray defeat Milos Raonic in the final, with many more listening on BBC Radio 5 Live and following online on the BBC Sport website.

Stephen Farrow, Aegon Championships Tournament Director, said: “To know that Andy will play at The Queen’s Club for the rest of his career and that the BBC will cover it every step of the way is a huge boost in what is an exciting and important year for the Aegon Championships with our stadium capacity increasing by 30%. Last year, we celebrated our four-time winners Roy Emerson, John McEnroe, Boris Becker and Lleyton Hewitt. This year, and for many years to come, Andy Murray will return as our greatest champion in front of more people than ever before, and covered live on television, radio and online by the BBC. We couldn’t be happier.”

Barbara Slater, Director of BBC Sport, said: “The Aegon Championships at The Queen’s Club is one of the most cherished events in the tennis calendar and it’s great that the BBC will continue to bring it to audiences across all platforms until 2024. With a British tennis player as the current World No. 1 there’s no better time for us to reinforce our commitment to the sport.”